Links API returning . as part of href when link is the last part of a sentence

I work for the Common App and some of our functionality for users is tied to activation/opt out links via emails. I’m using Mailsac + your API primarily due to how robust the returns are.

When testing out using the links from the email via the API, I’m finding that links that occur at the end of a sentence (ex.: Please visit our website to activate your account.) will get the trailing period added to the returned link. It’s not a part of the anchor tag or href, but is being suffixed on automatically.

Any ideas why this is happening? I’m currently just running those offending links through a substring function to remove the last character but I’d love to know if this is fixable from y’alls side instead!

Thanks!

Disclaimer that I’m a front-end dev of the HTML/CSS variety - this is actually my first real work integrating an API into a testing library (Cypress) so a lot of this is super new to me.

Thanks for the detailed description. We are investigating and trying to reproduce. We will reply soon.

Are you sending both an HTML and Plain Text body in your email? If not, it may explain the issue. To fix it immediately, just sent the link as part of a plain text email body. You can still also send the HTML body.

@geebru Could you post a link to the email message or mailsac inbox you are sending the message to? I’d like the try to reproduce the issue.

If you don’t want to post the email or inbox publicly, you can message me directly or send an email to [email protected]

@ruffrey We send both versions if I recall - the emails are from a separate code base that I don’t have ease of access to. That said however I’m more familiar with the HTML version (which I updated a year ago?) than the plain text so I’m not entirely sure if they match 1:1 or if there’s issues in the PT version.